Review: Das Bastard / Fuck Your Haircut @TheBasementBrum by @JeffStuka


Das Bastard / Fuck Your Haircut
It’s Just Noise
The Basement
1/4/2010

Now is not the time to mess with me. No seriously, I’ve just put two teabags in my mug and I’m tannined up like the Pope on Castrol GTX. You really don’t want to come at me cause I’ll kick your sore buttocks around this town and not even give you a receipt. That’s danger for you. I didn’t get any of that sort of provocation from openers Fuck Your Haircut who seemed to be a wholesome foursome of well educated lads who worked nicely in combination.

A drummer and a guitarist who were delightfully melded to a slick harmonising duo up front. The songs may have been slightly on the short side for an old dog like me but that’s pop music for you. Always leaving you wanting.

Didn’t catch much of the lyrics I’m afraid but if you use your imagination and extrapolate back from “Let’s suck sticklebricks and go on a womble riot”, you’ll probably get there in the end.

Das Bastard equal primal scream therapy for voyeurs who want tinnitus. Fuck your audience, they’re just bedding while you weep. It’s a monster but not a new one. We’ve seen this face of selfish angst before but that doesn’t mean we don’t want to embrace it now. Your howl is my howl my friend. In my case, the desperate howl of walking away from a beautiful woman who wants to fuck my brains out and curling up into my shame basket at home.

In your case, fuck knows. Probably five years behind the counter at Maccy D’s or summat. Anyway, when they’re faster, they’re furiouser and betterer but overall they still will piss goodness into your brain.

If you want your ears raped by good stuff that will scare the genitals off you, then these bands are for you.

Jeff Stuka


Bookmark and Share

One response to “Review: Das Bastard / Fuck Your Haircut @TheBasementBrum by @JeffStuka

  1. fuck your haircut!

    What an awesome bandname!

Leave a Reply

